top of page

Whitchurch Writers

January 2017

This was my first visit to this group of friendly and enthusiastic poets and writers, they made me (and Anneka, another newbie) most welcome.

The topic for them this month was on revenge, which I managed to scrape a poem together, I only noticed the day before that there was a prompt!

We all read out our poems then held a short discussion on them, all the poems were different in style, length and theme, some taking the darker side and others like me, taking a more comical approach.

This was my poem;

Oh that was Cold

It is said that a dish, That may contain some fish, Is best when it is served cold. To be avenged, so someone wished. A fish that used to be lively and gold, Now lays still, their belly had been rolled. My fish was once oh so sweet, Revenge I will have so be told! No longer will it swim to greet... Or bob happily for a flaky treat. Who could have done this deathly deed? An avenger they are going to meet. Now to act with some speed, Clearing the tank of its entire weed. Only to find the claw of a cat! Revenging my fish, so they can be freed. Finding that cat sitting on my mat, The pussy wouldn’t stop for idle chitchat. Now revenge was had for my dead fish, Because that the cat did go and scat.

Others wrote about an aeroplane crash, a wardrobe and even a fly, but the most interesting one for me was a poem connected to a painting... Very Interesting.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page